The United States In Two Words


Nice example of twitter text mining.

Ripples

Sweet home Alabama, Where the skies are so blue; Sweet home Alabama, Lord, I’m coming home to you (Sweet home Alabama, Lynyrd Skynyrd)

This is the second post I write to show the abilities of twitteR package and also the second post I write for KDnuggets. In this case my goal is to have an insight of what people tweet about american states. To do this, I look for tweets containing the exact phrase “[STATE NAME] is” for every states. Once I have the set of tweets for each state I do some simple text mining: cleaning, standardizing, removing empty words and crossing with these sentiment lexicons. Then I choose the two most common words to describe each state. You can read the original post here. This is the visualization I produced to show the result of the algorithm:

States In Two Words v2

Since the right side of the map is a little bit messy, in the…

View original post 54 more words

Author: Krishan

I am a professional with many years of experience in computer vision, data mining, machine learning, neural networks, and pattern recognition. I provide consulting and training services through my company, Integrated Knowledge Solutions.

Leave a Reply

